Tuesday, 22 May 2018

The 2017/18 Season Ends

The judging of the Hoylake International Exhibition 2018 has now been completed and we eagerly await the report cards and the competition catalogue to see the best images produced by this prestigious competition.

The late decision by our committee to cancel the final club meeting this coming Friday 25th May means that Hoylake Photographic Society has now officially closed for the Summer months leaving our members with the challenge to get out and about with their cameras and capture inspiring photography for when the new season of events, talks and competitions opens again in September 2018.

Enjoy the Summer and your photography.

Sunday, 6 May 2018

Club AGM and Energy Challenge

The club season will soon be closing and the AGM is an important end of season function of the club. Not only is it the mechanism for dealing with the formal business of the club such as electing the committee members but the evening hosts the awarding of the trophies and awards to members who have competed in the Annual Print and DPI competitions. 

Diana Magor, President Anthony Clarke, Marie Higgins

The evening started with a welcome from our club President Anthony Clarke who gave his annual report to the members. The club formalities continued with reports from Diana Magor and our Treasurer Marie Higgins. 

Treasurer Marie Higgins

Once the formal business was completed, Anthony Clarke awarded the trophies and awards gained in the Annual Print and DPI competitions to those members who were in attendance. With the "annuals" being a re-run of the six monthly competitions judged by Adrian and Jane Lines the previous week, there were a lot of awards going to members with some very successful competitors. Some members received numerous trophies with others gaining numerous certificated awards. All in all there was a good spread of success. Below are the successful club members with President Anthony Clarke.

Ian Chantler

Lyn Rostron

Margaret Sixsmith

Carol Tipping

Barry Quatermass

Peter Larkin

Ron Cooper

Steve Lewis

Diana Baddeley

John Gardner

Jonathan Heyes

Peter Lovatt

Diana Magor

Lynette Ryan

Cynthia Sadler

Phil Sadler

Michael Severn

Mike Waring

Peter Watson

And finally Anthony Clarke presented his own award to himself. 

Anthony Clarke

Although the AGM is a sign that the club season is coming to a close, the season is not yet over. Next Friday 11th May, Barry Quatermass is hosting a club members night. Barry's challenge to members is to provide images on the theme of "Energy". It's a fun challenge to see what our members to spot and record and Barry will be going through the entries on the night. 

The doors of Newton Village Hall, Grange Cross Lane, West Kirby will be opening as usual at 7.30pm for a 7.45pm start and a 10pm finish.

Tuesday, 1 May 2018

Annual DPI Competition Results

Friday 27th April saw the judging of the Annual DPI Competition by Adrian Lines MPAGB ARPS FBPE and Janes Lines MPAGB LRPS BPE5* They had a huge number of images to get through on the night but still managed to carry out a short critique of each image. Judging the monthly competition subjects again gave club members a second chance of gaining awards. Art is subjective of course and with a fresh set of eyes carrying out the judging the monthly competition results were stood on their head.

Congratulations to those members who gained awards on the night. The top three awarded images in each section are shown below. Commiserations to those who didn't gain any awards. Your images still contributed to an enjoyable evening.


Pictorial 1st - Night Fishing by Paul Anderson

Pictorial 2nd - Mouse Play by Lynette Ryan

Pictorial 3rd - Mary's Shell by Peter Larkin


Nature 1st - Young Grey Seal by Margaret Sixsmith

Nature 2nd - Godwit on Button Weed by Carol Tipping

Nature 3rd - Cap Cloud Over Tryfan Just After Sunrise by Peter Lovatt


Street 1st - Grand Day Out by Ron Cooper

Street 2nd - Human Tower by Ian Chantler

Street 3rd - Down But Not Out by Rob Devenish


People 1st - Spark of Creation by Peter Larkin

People 2nd - Canoeist by Peter Lovatt

People 3rd - Farrier at Work by George Evans


Impressions 1st - Dawn Offering by Paul Anderson

Impressions 2nd - Leaving James Street by Anthony Clarke

Impressions 3rd - Ancient Woodland by John Sixsmith


Open 1st - Dawn Light by Margaret Sixsmith

Open 2nd - #outhousemcr remic (Best Altered Reality) by Paul Anderson

Open 3rd - Taking the Bend by Barry Quatermass

Thanks must go to Adrian and Jane Lines for their hard work in judging so many images in the six monthly competition categories. They managed to carry out a short critique of each image and we still finished at 10pm.

Our next meeting is on Friday 4th May. This is our AGM and the awarding of the Annual Competition Print and DPI trophies. We start at Newton Village Hall, Grange Cross Lane, West Kirby at 7.45pm and finish at 10pm. Club news can be viewed on this blog, the Hoylake Photographic Society website or our Facebook page.